RSS

The Slow Slips of Coffee and The Fast Gulps of Sweet Tea

26 Feb

Tea or Coffee?

Oh what a time we live in!  Every day when I drag this broken body either off the couch or out of the bed that I slept on, my very first waking thought is “Jesus”.  It takes me a few minutes to get my bearings straight to walk to the kitchen where my co-favorite drink is – my hot simmering coffee!  Then, I wash my favorite tall glass out (because I use it everyday) and pour myself a glass of ice cold sweet tea (my other favorite drink) and then, I take these into the living room to set them right beside me as I begin my internet news reads for the day.  I have to read everything I can find that the Holy Spirit leads me to and sometimes this can take hours or minutes, depending on where I’m led.  I have to stay refreshed, renewed in what I face as a Christian in the world of today – the “Unbelieving World” that I no longer seem to belong in.  My morning reading is sort of like my drinks and in the way each one quenches a certain thirst in me and the way I approach drinking them as the coffee is sipped slowly while the sweet tea seems to be gulped down.  But, each have their own separate cause…coffee to wake me up and sweet tea to keep me awake!

Of course I pray during this time too and at times, they too seem to be slow, long blissful sips like my coffee, where I take my time and slowly go over each and every word I’m praying, making sure I don’t leave anything out – that I have given and asked all that I had on my heart and every blessing I needed Him to give and every sin I need Him for forgive.  Then, there are mornings where my prayers are a bit like my sweet tea intake – non-stop, fast racing gulps where I seem to rush my time with the Lord so I can get to what I really need Him to do.  

Southern Sweet Tea – Yum!

Do you know what I realized?  When I rush and have my “sweet tea” like-prayers, I’m left feeling unsatisfied throughout the day like I need to keep going back to the Lord to give Him full explanation of what I meant, why I was asking and so on…those prayers in the morning always feel uncompleted which in turn make my heart feel burdened because I did not get everything “laid-out” so not all was given and released.  These are the days where I again find myself praying over and over about everything – I guess this is due to me not cleansing or giving over all my burdens, all my questions, all my requests, all my tears, all my joy – which then meant, I wasn’t giving all my heart!  Usually by mid-afternoon on these days, I end up laying on the floor, stomach & face down with a continual flow of tears that do not cease until I lay it all down and out!

The Slow Sip of Hot Coffee – Bliss!

Now, when I pray my “coffee” like-prayers in the morning, I seem to flow through the day, speaking to the Lord in an easy manner and asking for and about the “fresh” things on my mind and I’m not still thinking about all that I left out so my heart and spirit is open to see the illumination of the new because I’m walking with a cleansed, empty yet ready-to-be-filled heart and I anxiously await His Teaching and Filling of Him in me.  See –  I’m moving forward and not backwards because I left everything at the Foot of His Cross when I went there…nothing was left in my heart that would make me “back-peddle” over and over throughout the day and when you are not looking back at what you didn’t do, we look and move forward to all that He has for us, thereby able to see the answers and blessings He has waiting.  I noticed that when I did this – I could not see the answers to my prayers because I was to blinded and distracted by my unreleased, uncompleted prayers.

What did I learn by this – to drink my coffee in the morning, nice and slow so I can truly take time to smell the roses.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on February 26, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “The Slow Slips of Coffee and The Fast Gulps of Sweet Tea

  1. benny

    February 26, 2014 at 6:53 pm

    Thats beautiful sister.For the past week i have been so burden that my prayer life is suffering and that creates more vacuum in me bcos am not proper filled.I have no job and am an international medical doctor came to the U.S about 5yrs ago and don’t have a job of any sort,i depend on my husband for every single penny.I have been praying about it but its seems my prayers its not answered but you know my thought is not GOD thought and HIS is the best for me even when it does not go the way i actually wants .Please pray for me .

     
  2. Patricia Owens

    February 26, 2014 at 7:12 pm

    AHHH MY SWEET SISTER IN CHRIST..HEAR YOU LOUD AND CLEAR…OH THAT COFFEE WHILE ON THE AM INTERNET…..ASKING THE DEAR HOLY SPIRIT TO GUIDE….AMEN. LOVE AND PRAYERS DEAR ONE…. AMEN AND AMEN! WHAT A TIME WE ARE IN…WHEW. BUT JESUS IS..IN CHARGE…AND WE ARE PEACE AND WE LISTEN TO HIM IN OUR HEARTS..JUST FOR THE PRESENT MOMENT..NOW.. CHEERFULLY WE TRY….NOT THE MOMENT BEFORE OR THE ONE TO COME..JUST NOW..WITH HIM – IN HIM… NOW AND FOREVER.

     
  3. Irene

    February 26, 2014 at 7:55 pm

    Amen Patricia! I would love to be sitting there with you when you have your coffee & iced tea, maybe we can do this in Heaven with our Lord? When we stayed with our Amish-Mennonite friends we had iced tea, it was served on the table & we thought it was wine. lol. which they don’t drink! I’d love to make some but we do not have a fridge, unless it would be cold enough in the cool box? Oh I can’t wait to be with our Lord forever! Love you.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Hearing From Abba

Lessons, visions and dreams from Abba - My personal journey

Sharing Some Heavenly Help, Messages and Tools for NOW

My Jesus Blog

"For GOD So Loved The World, HE Gave HIS Only Begotten Son, That Who So Ever Belived In HIM, Shall Be Saved"... John 3:16

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

Bon's Blog - Hearing from God

Sharing Some Heavenly Help, Messages and Tools for NOW

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

